Meet the team

John Chartres

John Chartres
Director
Call 03 9509 8244 | 0418 321 951

Email John Chartres


Leo A. (Malvern East) 01/05/2017
First note handling, service and execution. Delivered on service and above price expectation. A true professional employed by a company of long standing excellent reputation.

Dianne V. (Malvern East) 05/04/2017
I was extremely satisfied with John's performance before, throughout, and after the sales campaign. His helpfullness, willingness, and knowledge was second to none. His pleasant and 'no fuss' manner was very much appreciated; I would have no issues with recommending Thomson and John Chartres to any prospective sellers (and buyers!). 

Dolores D. (Murrumbeena) 01/11/2016
Dealing with the Thomson team ensured we experienced a smooth, well thought through marketing campaign. We appreciated the comprehensive and ongoing communication and updates provided by John and Nick via phone, email and text.  The word professionalism holds very true for Thomson’s. Their counsel, good humour and genuine interest in the sale of our property were greatly appreciated. The sale took place during a difficult time for our family and the care and sincerity of John and Nick’s actions and communication were valuable in our considerations. 

Paul F. & Dolores D. (Malvern East) 31/03/2016
Thank you for the successful sale of our property! Simply put, it was swift, painless and professional with a most satisfactory end sale figure. The early contact to your existing database was a key to the rapid process and the ability to finalise the sale transaction prior to any need for marketing activity. We continue to be impressed and look forward to our continued relationship with Thomson!

Peter & Chwee W. (Caulfield East) 28/03/2016
We are very happy with the price achieved at the auction of our property carried out by Thomson. It was done very professionally and we would not hesitate to recommend Thomson to anyone looking to sell their property.  

Yussi & Dina S. (Caulfield North) 16/02/2016
A big thank you to John Chartres for achieving a fantastic price on the sale of our property! John was such a pleasure to work with and always honest and highly reliable.  

Anthony & Cheryl B. (Malvern) 04/12/2015
We found both John Chartres and James Taylor very helpful, courteous and totally professional in all our dealings when selling our property. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and best of all, they achieved an excellent result. We could not be happier with their service and would not hesitate to recommend Thomson! 

Dale & Susie E. (Glen Iris) 18/11/2015
We have been completely satisfied in my dealings with John, who has been most helpful in making our property purchase a pleasant and seamless transaction. We have no hesitation in recommending John’s services to our family and friends!

James B. (Millicent SA) 24/08/2015
Performance was excellent throughout the sales campaign. From initial enquiry to present day Mark has been readily available by phone and/or email with friendly and helpful information. He has also been on hand to offer friendly advice when necessary. John was exceptional on auction day and always reassuring and positive.  The whole process was hustle-free and a positive experience. 

Jenny M. (Elsternwick) 31/05/2015
After spending a day house hunting yesterday it confirmed my opinion that both John and Brett gave me the most amazing service and advice through out the selling of my property. Brett was always able to help me irecommend appropriate tradespeople and really, nothing was ever too much or him. I believe that the house looked really good, and I must say its thanks to both agents and their concerted  efforts. After what I saw yesterday the agents mustn't assist their clients with any suggestions of even making their homes neat and tidy. I would never hesitate in recommending John, Brett and Thomson Real Estate!!

Michael P. (Armadale) 28/05/2015
A big thanks to John for his remarkable ability to extract the right person time after time, from seemingly nowhere, and when most prospects have been exhausted and enquiries have evaporated. Well done! 

Kathy S. (Prahran) 28/05/2015
John and Mark obtained an excellent result on the auction day due to high attention to the presentation of the property, accurate knowledge of the potential target audience and marketing of the property with multiple weekly opens. Brilliant auction - thank you!

Vanessa & Melissa J. (Malvern) 02/05/2015
Just wanted to thank you again so much for your efforts over the campaign. We are very pleased with the result and you made an otherwise emotional and potentially stressful experience smooth and easy. You both managed the process superbly and we were grateful for the regular email updates and your ready availability, particularly accommodating our out of hours meeting requests. Thank you so much! 

Michael P. (Malvern) 24/11/2014
We view your sale campaign, re the above property, in a positive light, and are satisfied with the outcome.  From the time the property went on the market, you have promptly and regularly informed us of any new developments and subsequent follow up of prospective buyers.  By doing this, you have inadvertently made us feel as if we were a part of your successful sales team.  Your calm and very professional approach in concluding the sale before the auction deserves special praise, and we hope that you will be able to, once again, display your selling talents when one of the remaining apartments is put up for sale in the new year.  Many thanks for a job well done!

Francis C. (Clifton Hill) 28/10/2014
The services provided by John Chartres and Thomson were outstanding. I cannot imagine how it could possibly be improved. I wanted all the worry of the sale to be taken off my shoulders and John did exactly that. John, thank you again! 

Simon F. (South Yarra) 24/09/2014
Very professional.  Very helpful in advising and arranging presentation of property prior to marketing. Excellent communication during the campaign, the day before, and on the auction day.

Dolores D. (Glen Iris) 30/07/2014
It was the commitment, dedication, on-going communication and attitude that stood out – way beyond the notion of performance!John, your professional input, research and straightforward communications added to our understanding and sense of confidence of the proposed 6/39 Scot Grove campaign. We felt confident and relaxed with the fact that Thomson was looking after us and strived to achieve the result that we felt was attainable – and ultimately achieved.
A great result!

Paul T. (Malvern) 01/07/2014
The following is a testimonial for Thomson Real Estate in Malvern and more specifically for John Chartres.  John has been assisting me for many many years with my portfolio of investment properties, largely in the Stonnington area.

Some years back, I also established a boutique property development business, again working largely in the Stonnington area.  John has continued to help me with the feasibility studies and ultimately in the sales process. Over the years, I have worked in conjunction with both local agents, when projects have been outside the Stonnington area, and with higher profile agents when the market softened, during the GFC.

My experience has been, that claims of local experience, local contacts and extensive databases have never produced a buyer.  All our buyers over the years have materialized from our public marketing campaigns, and in the recent past, more specifically from the internet.  I have found that the price estimates that Thomson quotes are generally achieved and often exceeded.  I have never ever been approached to negotiate my asking price down, during the campaign by Thomson.  Experience has cemented my view that it’s more about the choice of agent rather than the agency.

I have found that John Chartres’ agency, being a boutique business, provides a vendor centric personalized service.  The depth of skill, market astuteness and high level of professionalism are second to none. I would have no hesitation in recommending John in assisting with the sale of your property.  

Paul T. (Malvern) 03/05/2014
The following is a testimonial for Thomson Real Estate in Malvern and more specifically for John Chartres and Celeste Wright.  John has been assisting me for many many years with my portfolio of investment properties, largely in the Stonnington area. Some years back, I also established a boutique property development business, again working largely in the Stonnington area.  John has continued to help me with the feasibility studies and ultimately in the sales process.  More recently, Celeste Wright has also been involved with our property sales.  They have both been terrific.

Over the years, I have worked in conjunction with both local agents, when projects have been outside the Stonnington area, and with higher profile agents when the market softened, during the GFC. My experience has been, that claims of local experience, local contacts and extensive databases have never produced a buyer.  All our buyers over the years have materialized from our public marketing campaigns, and in the recent past, more specifically from the internet.  I have found that the price estimates that Thomson quotes are generally achieved and often exceeded.  I have never ever been approached to negotiate my asking price down, during the campaign by Thomson.  Experience has cemented my view that it’s more about the choice of agent rather than the agency.

I have found that John Chartres’ agency, being a boutique business, provides a vendor centric personalized service.  The depth of skill, market astuteness and high level of professionalism are second to none. I would have no hesitation in recommending John and Celeste in assisting with the sale of your property.

Ashley R. (Hawthorn) 03/02/2014
I was absolutely delighted by the performance of Thomson in all respects of their service provided. In summary, Initial discussions with John Chartres whose professional opinion I respect. Follwed by  preparation and execution of sales ‘brochure’ – a cut above your competitors in many ways, such as photography, graphic presentation and especially written, truthfuldescription of property which I feel sure prospective purchasers valued too!

A most classy presentation which presented my property as it deserved. Conducting of open for inspections by Brett was most professional. Brett kept me well informed of all attendees and comments. Brett ensured ‘open for inspections’ were as painless as possible for me given my time constraints etc. All discussions, subsequently with John Chartres were frank, friendly and the consideration for me which he showed is most appreciated.  Thank you all.

Minoo & Niloufer P. (Malvern) 14/10/2013
We are writing this as our professional relationship comes to an end in regard to the final settlement on our home, but I hope that we remain friends always. Such has been the pleasure to know you both. From the outset of being introduced, we were impressed, John, by your calm, quiet, and ever-smiling prescence. You are both gentle, polite and were always interested in answering our problems, worries and queries. If you didn't happen to know the answer to a question, we could always count on you promptly getting back to us with it, rather than just giving us a general glib response. But the dedication and personal committment shown by yourself and John to the pursuit of obtaining the best possible sale price and result that would suit our individual needs, was the reason we chose the boutique agency of Thomson Real Estate, rather than going with any other larger firm. Having now experienced both styles of sales consultancy, we will be choosing the Thomson approach every time in the future. It is with tremendous confidence that we recommend your agency to anyone who reads this letter or to whom we discuss our experience of selling. With your advice and sincere counselling and accurate knowledge of the property market and its consumers, we achieved a sale price that was fair and acceptable. With very best wishes and much gratitude - thank you!

Damian & Robyn T. (Malvern) 02/09/2013
Settlement is drawing nigh and I wanted to put on record how pleased we are with our purchase and the way in which you managed us as buyers. As a professional buyers' advocate, I deal with a large number of agents during the course of my business and the satisfaction rating varies greatly. However when it comes to dealing with one's own property purchase, all the usual pressures and emotions are there in abundance.  We were very fortunate that you and your company were handling the property of our choice.

John, you were totally professional, yet friendly and approachable in all of our dealings both in the lead up to the auction, the continued negotiations and during the long time leading to settlement. Post sale service is of utmost importance to buyers and sadly, many agents ignore the buyer once a sale has been made. The best agents see the process all the way through to handover and settlement and in so doing end up with happy buyers who in turn become clients of the firm and even goodwill advocates. We are pleased to say our experiences have always been positive and this is largely due to your patience in dealing with us post sale with several inspections that you generously arranged and we are sure this will be the case until the keys are handed over. Be assured we are very happy to recommend you and Thomson Real Estate!